2018 Organization Category Finalists

Sponsored by

Star Motors logo

Christyn Cianfarani

The Canadian Association of Defence and Security Industries
President and CEO

Christina Hlusko

CAA North & East Ontario
President CEO

Amy MacLeod

Vice President, Strategic Communications, Corporate Diversity Officer

Christyn Cianfarani is the President and CEO of the Canadian Association of Defence and Security Industries (CADSI) where her role is to lead an organization that represents more than 900 member companies across Canada.

For more than two decades, Ms. Cianfarani has blazed a trail for women in Canada’s aerospace, defence and security industries. She holds a master’s degree from the University of Toronto and a bachelor’s degree from the Royal Military College of Canada. After a stint with the Royal Canadian Navy, she was hired as a proposal specialist at Canadian aerospace firm CAE Inc., and quickly rose through the ranks. She eventually held leadership positions within the company in strategy, research and development, and business solutions.

In 2013, Ms. Cianfarani was the only woman to participate in the Government of Canada-commissioned “Jenkins panel” on military procurement, which has played a significant role in shaping defence procurement policy. In 2014, she became the first woman to lead CADSI in its current incarnation, and under her leadership the 35-year-old association has seen female representation on its board of directors rise from zero to 30 per cent.

Outside the office, she enjoys doing giant jigsaw puzzles.

As President and CEO of CAA North & East Ontario (CAANEO), Christina Hlusko is committed to exploring different avenues that will allow the Club to continue to uphold the organization’s long-standing commitment of providing its membership with best-in-class service in all that it offers. She is proud to lead an organization which was recently named one of the most trusted brands in Canada.

Christina was born in Montreal Quebec, she graduated with a BA Industrial Relations from McGill University (1987) and she completed her Masters of Industrial Relations from Queen’s University  (1988).

Prior to becoming President & CEO, Christina has worked in the fields of Human Resources, Labour Relations, Marketing and Product Management, Travel and Automotive Services and in Operations. She currently Chairs the CAA National Automotive Services Task Force, is a lead participant in the CAA National Insurance Services Task Force. Additionally, she is an active member in the Global Mobility Alliance. The GMA explores opportunities to provide best in class services to the motoring public as well as exploring business initiatives amongst other like-minded clubs and industry partners.

Christina is a founding member of the Leadership Committee for The Women In Philanthropy program at Queensway Carleton Hospital which brings together like-minded women who want to help transform healthcare for Ottawa and our region through their collective giving.

Christina has the support of her wonderful husband of 24 years and has an amazing daughter who is pursuing her dream of being a Chemist and shares her mother’s love of travel and experiencing all the world has to offer.

Amy MacLeod is a seasoned tech executive, thought leader and trusted advisor to business and public leaders, with 25 years’ experience in Ottawa’s political and private sectors where she has served as the senior communications executive and spokesperson for multiple organizations. A member of the Mitel executive leadership team, in 2018 Amy was appointed to her current position as the company’s first Corporate Diversity Officer.

An agile business leader and strategic communicator, Amy specializes in translating complex business, financial, and technical developments into global communications programs and messaging frameworks that support strategic priorities. Her expertise spans all aspects of stakeholder communications, both external and internal, from M&A, strategic issues management, corporate messaging, analyst, government, and public relations, and executive and employee communications.

Prior to joining Mitel, Amy held senior communications roles at General Dynamics Canada, Alcatel-Lucent, and Newbridge Networks. She started her career in politics as a senior staffer for a Member of Parliament. Amy currently serves as Chair of the Board of Directors of the Kanata North Business Association, home to Canada’s largest technology park with more than 21,000 employees contributing more than $7.3 billion to Canada’s GDP.

Amy earned a B.A. in Political Science from the University of Waterloo. She also completed post-degree studies in law and history from Carleton University and the Executive Development Marketing Program at Queen’s University. Amy lives in Stittsville with her unflappable husband Greg, inspiring daughter Arwen, and their smelly but darling dog Oscar.


The BYA “Organization” category welcomes nominees who are key decision-makers in their organization. BYA Organization nominees must satisfy the following criteria:

    • Must hold a senior decision-making position in her organization

    • Must exercise a scope of authority that directly impacts her organization

    • The impact may be one or more of the following:
      • Profitability
      • Organization Strategy
      • Productivity of staff
      • Business development
      • Customer/client care

Still have questions? Contact us.