The BYAs is about the recognition and acknowledgement of achievement, service and merit.


Each year the Businesswoman of the Year Awards celebrates the achievements of female innovators, leaders and visionaries in the National Capital Region.

We accept nominations in four categories:  Emerging Entrepreneur, Established Entrepreneur, Organization and Professional Services.

Overall BYAs Criteria for Nominees:



The nominee must reflect the excellence of businesswomen in our community


Local Businesswomen

The nominee must live and work in the National Capital Region


Profit or not-for-profit

May be public or private sector, profit or not-for-profit 

Award Categories

Emerging Entrepreneur

For women who organize and operate an emerging business or group of businesses

Established Entrepreneur

For women who organize and operate an established business or group of businesses

Professional Services

For women in a vocation or occupation requiring special education, knowledge and skills


For women who are key decision-makers in their organization or company