Award Categories

The BYAs is about the recognition and acknowledgement of achievement, service and merit.


Each year the Businesswoman of the Year Awards celebrates the achievements of female innovators, leaders and visionaries in the National Capital Region.

We accept nominations in four categories:  Entrepreneurial Leader, Enterprise Leader, Lifetime Achievement and Community Impact. 

Overall BYAs Criteria for Nominees:



The nominee must reflect the excellence of businesswomen in our community


Local Businesswomen

The nominee must live and work in the National Capital Region


Profit or not-for-profit

May be public or private sector, profit or not-for-profit 

Award Categories

Entrepreneurial Leader

For women who organize and operate a business or group of companies, taking on financial risks.

Lifetime Achievement

For women who have earned recognition and respect, and have significantly impacted their field and community.

Enterprise Leader

Women who work for for-profit, not-for-profit, non-governmental organizations, social enterprises, charity, or a foundation.

Community Impact

For women who volunteer their time to effect positive change in their organization and/or community.